The Final Days

(7-3-17 – 7-11-17)

Hello friends!  Sorry for the lapse in posting during my final week in Italy – I was mostly relaxing with friends, so there wasn’t much to report.  I did get to spend two wonderful days in Pompeii with Chris and the rest of the project, experiencing a bit of that archaeology life.  They even let me move some really fucking old amphorae!  It was really interesting the see the other, non-digging, side to archaeology – everyone sitting around on laptops sorting through their own data.  Less glamorous, perhaps, but arguable more important.  

On July 5, I took the train back to Rome to spend some time there with friends.  I basically did nothing during the day but watch Downton Abbey on (Italian) Netflix, but then met up in the evening with my friends to see my favorite Bernini sculptures at the Borghese Gallery or to try a new gelato place near the Pantheon.  

Over the weekend of July 7th, we drove to Sperlonga, where Chris and our other friend Leigh met up with us for some beach time and a peek at Emperor Tiberius’ fabulous villa and dining grotto.  It was a fun weekend full of good food and new friends – we got to meet an American from Cincinnati who had recently retired to Itri, a town nearby, which was really fun!

After the weekend, I spent one more full day in Rome lounging around (i.e. finishing Downton Abbey) before flying home.  While I always have a hard time leaving Italy, this parting seemed less bittersweet than normal.  Perhaps it was because I had spent time with friends after saying goodbye to my husband.  Regardless, I hardly cried at all at the airport OR on the flight – last year I spent most of the flight just leaking tears.  Now I am back in the States, but not at home!  That’s right – after barely 12 hours in Cincinnati, I set out the very next morning for Carlisle, Pennsylvania, home to Dickinson College and to the Dickinson College Latin Workshop, affectionately known as Latin Camp.  Latin enthusiasts from all over gather for five days to do nothing but read Latin and enjoy each other’s company.  It is a wonderful experience – enlightening and rejuvenating.  This year we are reading Prudentius’ Psychomachia, an early Christian work about the battles between vices and virtues.  I’ve never read anything this late before (it was written around 390 AD), so this is a really fascinating experience for me. 

As much as I am loving being around my fellow Latin nerds, I am ready to be home to relax for a while.  But I hope you, dear reader, have enjoyed traveling with me this summer!  See you again next year!

3 thoughts on “The Final Days

  1. Always a pleasure to travel with you, Ploy. I hope the Latin camp was fun. Seems as if Prudentius provided some stirring battle scenes! Love, TVN

    • That would be wonderful! I know we’re definitely coming up for the Martin lectures in Oct/Nov, but we might be up that way sooner than that. I’ll let you know!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

